These new releases, along with all other BIS products, are available for downloading in studio quality
from at exceptional conditions.

Divertimenti Vol.2

Divertimenti Vol.2
Joseph Haydn
    • Divertimento in G-dur (Cassatio) für Flöte, Oboe, 2 Violinen und Basso continuo Hob. II:1
  1. Allegro 3'17
  2. Andante moderato 9'32
  3. Menuet 2'10
  4. La Fantasia Moderato (Tema con variazioni) 8'05
    • Cassatio in D-dur (Divertimento) für 4 Hörner, Violine, Viola und Basso continuo Hob. II:D22
  5. Allegro moderato 4'00
  6. Menuet 3'20
  7. Adagio 1'58
  8. Menuet 2'55
  9. Finale: Allegro 0'50
    • Divertimento in G-dur für 2 Oboen, 2 Hörner, 2 Violinen, 2 Violen und Basso continuo Hob. II:9
  10. Allegro molto 2'43
  11. Menuet 3'44
  12. Adagio cantabile 4'53
  13. Menuet 4'40
  14. Finale: Presto 2'28

  • Manfred Huss, Conductor
  • Haydn Sinfonietta Wien

  • Koch Schwann
  • 3-1286-2 H1
Haydn's divertimenti belong to a period of his life about which we have next to no reliable knowledge. Up to about 1757, when he was 25, Haydn was dependent on casual work as a musician to keep his head above water.

The Divertiment in G major Hob.II/1 is one of Haydn's earliest surviving works and must have been written at the same time as the Cassation in C major Hob.II/11, "The Birthday". Both works have an unusual scoring: flute, oboe, two violins and basso continuo, but no violas - a rare combination in Haydn's oeuvre.

We have reason to believe H.C. Robbins Landon, the leading Haydn scholar of our time, when he writes that the Cassation in D major Hob. II/D22 was composed between 1761 and 1765, when Prince Esterházy's orchestra frequently boasted up to four horn players. Robbins Landon discovered the work in the archives of the Count Clam-Gallas family at Friedberg Palace in Bohemia in 1959. It is a bravura piece for four horns and is dominated by the virtuoso interplay of the solo instruments.

The Divertimento in G major Hob.II/9 had been unperformable to now because of the sorry state of the sources: the autograph is no longer extant and only one single copy of the parts was known. With its vitality and joy of life, the work is an explicit proclamation of the absolute genius of a petulant and still very young Haydn.

Manfred Huss
adapted from the CD-Booklet

Similar Discs


Back to discography